Long-Term Parking at Miami Airport for Cruisers: 45 Days or None

By

in

·

How long Miami International Airport lets a cruise passenger leave a car

Miami International Airport publishes a maximum stay for two of its parking products and none for the third. The Dolphin, Flamingo and Ibis garages allow 45 days, valet allows 20, and the Economy Park and Ride carries no ceiling on any page the airport serves.

That ladder runs the same way the price does. The Miami-Dade Aviation Department charges $12.00 a day in the lot it never caps and $39.00 a day at the valet counter it caps at 20 days. The garages sit between the two at $25.00 a day and 45 days. The more a driver pays per day, the sooner the airport wants the car gone.

A cruise passenger driving to Miami has a second problem that a flying passenger does not. The ship leaves from PortMiami and comes back to PortMiami, so a car parked at the airport has to be reached twice. Everything below was read on miami-airport.com and on the airport’s own reservation site in September 2026, across the 299 pages that crawl of its menu returned. The rate ladder itself, product by product, belongs to the comparison of what MIA charges at each barrier, which this guide takes as read. The premises here are fixed: one standard car under 7 feet, seven consecutive nights, no promotional code, one PaybyPhone transaction, and every figure before sales tax on both sides of the county.

MIA parking productRate as publishedMaximum stayWhat MIA says happens past itSeven nightsFull allowed stay
Economy Park and Ride, 1350 NW 45 Ave$2.00 per 20 minutes or a max of $12.00 per day, plus $0.35 convenience feeNone publishedNothing published$84.35Not calculable, no ceiling published
Dolphin, Flamingo and Ibis Garages at the barrier$2.00 per 20 minutes, maximum daily rate $25.0045 daysTowed at owner’s expense, and considered abandoned in the FAQ$175.00$1,125.00
Dolphin or Flamingo Garage prepaid at booking.mia-parking.comReserved rate not printed on miami-airport.com; reservation fee of 2.99, non-refundableNot stated in the booking termsYou may need to pay the difference before being allowed to exitNot calculable from MIA’s own pagesNot stated in the booking terms
Valet, Departures level 2 of the Dolphin and Flamingo Garages$25.00 for 0-3 hours on the first day, $39.00 for 3-24 hours and as the maximum daily rate20 daysNothing published$273.00$780.00
Motorcycle bays, first floor of all three garagesDaily rate $12.00, payable through PaybyPhone since July 1, 2024No motorcycle limit published; the bays sit inside the garagesNothing published for motorcycles$84.00$540.00 if the 45 day garage clause reaches them
Off-airport, theparkingspot.com as named by MIANo rate published by the airportNone published by the airportNothing publishedNot calculable from MIA’s own pagesNot calculable from MIA’s own pages

Where each MIA parking price is charged, and on a day the airport never defines

Three garages carry the MIA garage rate and the airport splits them by concourse. The Dolphin serves Concourses D and E and is the one MIA names for American Airlines, British Airways, JetBlue and Qatar Airways; the Flamingo serves Concourses E to J; the Ibis serves Concourses J to H and holds the 50 ChargePoint charging ports at $0.38 per kWh. Valet sits on the Departures second level of the Dolphin and Flamingo only. The Economy Park and Ride is a separate address, 1350 NW 45 Ave, with 350 spaces and a shuttle bus the airport says runs 24 hours a day without ever printing a frequency.

Every one of those meters counts in twenty minute blocks. Garage parking is $2.00 for each 20 minutes against a $25.00 maximum daily rate that the airport says applies after 4 hours. That same twenty minute block runs the Economy Park and Ride, which stops at $12.00, plus a $0.35 convenience fee per transaction rather than per day.

What no MIA page defines is the day those maximums run on. Neither the parking page nor the FAQ says whether a maximum daily rate covers a calendar day or a rolling 24 hours, and the distinction is worth a full day’s charge on a sailing that leaves on a Saturday afternoon and returns on a Saturday morning. Two more constraints belong here: vehicles over 7 feet are sent to the High-Vehicle area or to the Economy Park and Ride, and the FAQ answers that SunPass is currently not accepted in our garages, which rules out the transponder most drivers reach the airport’s terminal curbs on. Off-airport, the airport names exactly one operator, theparkingspot.com, links it to that company’s Miami locations page and publishes no rate, no address, no shuttle interval and no maximum stay for it.

The 45 day ceiling is a hyperlink to a Florida statute and the 20 day one is not

On the airport parking page the words maximum stay of 45 days are not plain text. They are an anchor, and the anchor points at Florida Statute 705.184 on the state legislature’s site. The sentence that follows leaves no room: vehicles will be towed at owner’s expense after 45 days. The FAQ page sharpens it further, answering that a vehicle parked over 45 days will be considered abandoned and will be towed at the owner’s expense.

The 20 day valet limit gets none of that. It is one flat line, all vehicles parked in valet are limited to a maximum length of stay of 20 days, with no link, no consequence and no phone number for an exception beyond the valet desk on 305-876-0118. Least of all the lot at 1350 NW 45 Ave. Across the 299 pages of miami-airport.com read in September 2026, the string 45 days appears on exactly two, the parking page and the FAQ; 20 days appears on one; and no page anywhere carries a maximum stay, a length of stay or a tow warning for the lot at 1350 NW 45 Ave.

There is a loose end inside the garage clause itself. It caps the stay except where no overnight parking is listed, and no page on the airport’s site lists it. The same clause is the only place a ceiling attaches to a statute rather than to an operator’s preference, which is why the middle priced product is the one carrying the hardest consequence at MIA.

MIA answers the long stay question with the garages and leaves out its own cheapest lot

MIA puts the exact question in its FAQ. What options do I have for overnight or long-term parking, it asks itself, and answers: you can park in our garages for up to 45 days. The Economy Park and Ride, at less than half the daily rate and with no ceiling of its own, is not in the answer. Neither is valet, which the same page confirms exists. A driver taking that FAQ at face value pays $175.00 for a week instead of $84.35.

The airport’s contact page is worse for the same product. Its Parking row carries a tooltip promising a map where to park and describing the options as valet parking, $8 per day Economy Park, and Parking Garages. The parking page charges $12.00 per day, so the tooltip runs $4.00 a day light, or $28.00 across a cruise week. The map it promises, at map-where-to-park.asp, returns a 404 with the 2,625 byte Miami-Dade error page, and so does site_map.asp.

Prepaying does not resolve any of it. The parking page sells a space in the Dolphin or Flamingo garages up to a year in advance for a reservation fee of 2.99 that is non-refundable, while the booking system’s own terms and conditions, issued under the name Miami International Airport at 2100 NW 42nd Ave, cover the garages and Valet Dolphin and Valet Flamingo. Those terms give free cancellation and free amendment up to 24 hours before arrival and nothing between 24 hours and arrival. They do not mention 45 days, 20 days or any ceiling, so a traveller can buy a stay eleven months out under a document that never names the limit the parking page tows for.

A cruise week costed at each MIA barrier against both PortMiami rate groups

The transfer is the part no issuer totals. PortMiami is 7.1 miles from the airport by Miami-Dade County’s count and about 9 miles by the airport’s own, and neither department publishes a fare for the run, a gap set out in full in the guide to those seven miles and the two departments that price them differently. The meter is published even though the fare is not. Miami-Dade County Resolution No. R-700-22 sets $2.95 for the first 1/6 mile, $0.85 for each additional 1/6 mile up to one mile and $0.55 for each additional 1/6 mile after, and adds a $2.00 per trip charge for trips that originate from the Airport or PortMiami.

Run those numbers at the county’s 7.1 miles and one leg comes to $27.00 on the meter plus $2.00, or $29.00. Run them at the airport’s 9 miles and the same leg reaches $33.60 plus $2.00, or $35.60. Both clear the $15 minimum fare the resolution sets for trips originating at MIA or the PortMiami, and the resolution applies that $2.00 charge and that minimum at both ends of a cruise, because PortMiami is the only origin besides the airport that it names. Tolls sit outside the meter, with the passenger paying the SunPass rate only, on a route neither department publishes. The table uses two legs at the lower 7.1 mile reading, which is the reading that favours parking at the airport.

Where the car sleeps for a seven night sailingParkingTwo metered sedan legsDoor to door, before sales taxPublished ceiling
MIA Economy Park and Ride$84.35$58.00$142.35None published
MIA Dolphin, Flamingo or Ibis Garage$175.00$58.00$233.0045 days
MIA valet at the Dolphin or Flamingo$273.00$58.00$331.0020 days
PortMiami Garages C, D, F, G and Surface Lot E$200.00 for eight billed days at $25None needed$200.00None published
PortMiami Garage AA and Garage B$280.00 for eight billed days at $35None needed$280.00None published

Only the cheapest MIA lot beats leaving the car at the terminal

For a driver sailing from Cruise Terminal C, D, E, F, G or V, the Economy Park and Ride wins at $142.35 against $200.00, a margin of $57.65, and the criterion is total cash under fixed premises. The margin survives both of the county’s disagreeing distances: at the airport’s own about 9 miles the lot still lands at $155.55, and even a van paying the 30 percent surcharge the resolution allows above the meter rate reaches only $158.55. For a driver sailing from Cruise Terminal AA or Cruise Terminal B at $35 a day, the same lot wins by $137.65 and the garage wins too, at $233.00 against $280.00.

The garage is where the airport loses. At $233.00 door to door it sits $33.00 above the $200.00 that the port charges for eight billed days at its $25 terminals, and it gets there despite the port billing a day more than the trip has nights. Item 710 of PortMiami Terminal Tariff No. 010 applies the rate to the entry day and to each succeeding day the vehicle remains, so seven nights bill eight days, and the airport still cannot make up the two taxi legs from a $25.00 daily cap. Valet at $331.00 loses to everything on the board.

So the honest answer is not airport against port. It is which airport product, and only one of the three beats the port. Past the ceilings the choice narrows differently: a 21 night itinerary rules valet out, a 46 night one rules out all three garages and the tow clause attaches, and the only two places in Miami-Dade County that publish no limit at all are the airport’s cheapest lot and the county’s own seaport, where no maximum length of stay appears in the rate schedule or in item 710.

Small print that only reaches a car left for a whole sailing

  • The lot that wins cannot be prepaid. MIA sells reservations for the Dolphin and Flamingo only, so the Economy Park and Ride is first come at 350 spaces, availability varies, at an airport whose own statistics page counts 91 carriers in May 2026 and 55,314,661 passengers in 2025.
  • The convenience fee is charged per transaction, not per day, so the $0.35 lands once on a seven night stay paid in a single PaybyPhone session and again on every session after that.
  • Valet’s cheap first band is unreachable on a cruise. The $25.00 rate covers 0-3 hours on the first day only, so a car left overnight bills the $39.00 band from day one.
  • Paying for parking and paying the receipt desk are different addresses. Five domains carry one airport’s parking: rates on miami-airport.com, bookings on booking.mia-parking.com, support at [email protected], receipts at [email protected] and points at miarewards.com.
  • The booking page ships with its per-day price display switched off, so a seven night quote arrives as one total with tax and fees included and no nightly figure to check the $25.00 cap against.
  • A vehicle over 7 feet has two MIA options and both sit outside the garages, which is a different calculation from what the port allows an oversized vehicle at the terminal.
  • Cash barely exists. Cash is accepted only at select Quick Pay stations on Level 3 of the Dolphin and Flamingo and on the Arrivals first level inner loop, never at the garage exit lanes.

Assumptions about MIA parking that a cruise week punishes

Trusting the contact page tooltip. It advertises Economy Park at $8 per day against the $12.00 the parking page charges, and links to a map page that returns 404. A budget built on it is 33 percent short before the trip starts.

Reading the airport’s long-term answer as a shortlist. The FAQ names only the garages, which is the $175.00 route rather than the $84.35 one, and the airport never corrects itself on the cheaper page.

Assuming a reservation locks the length of stay. Nothing in the booking terms mentions the 45 day or 20 day ceiling, and the parking page hedges the overstay with the phrase you may need to pay the difference before being allowed to exit.

Counting nights instead of billed days when the comparison crosses the county. MIA charges in twenty minute blocks against a daily maximum and PortMiami charges the entry day plus each succeeding day, so the same week is seven units at one and eight at the other.

Forgetting the return leg. The $2.00 origination charge and the $15 minimum fare apply to trips starting at PortMiami as well as at MIA, so a driver who parks at the airport buys both directions twice over, which is one reason a park and cruise hotel package near the port reads differently on paper.

Every figure above, with the Miami-Dade page that carried it

The rates, the 45 day and 20 day ceilings, the tow clause, the statute anchor, the 350 spaces and the $0.35 convenience fee were read on the airport parking page at miami-airport.com in September 2026. The abandoned vehicle wording, the long-term answer and the Quick Pay cash locations come from the same site’s FAQ page. The $8 per day tooltip is on its contact page, and the 404 responses for map-where-to-park.asp and site_map.asp were checked directly. The meter bands, the $2.00 origination charge, the $15 minimum and the 30 percent large vehicle surcharge come from Miami-Dade County Resolution No. R-700-22 as published in the airport’s own taxicab rates document. The reservation fee, the cancellation window and the products the booking terms cover come from booking.mia-parking.com, which issues those terms under the name Miami International Airport. The PortMiami rates and the eight billed days come from the county rate schedule and item 710 of PortMiami Terminal Tariff No. 010, effective October 1, 2025.

The figures in this guide were verified in September 2026 against the sources named in each section. One boundary belongs under every $35 figure above. That rate sits on the county’s PortMiami parking page and not in Item 710, whose only long term line is $25.00, and the 6% the tariff names covers the charges the tariff itself prices. Parking rates usually change in January, shuttle fares and cruise line transfer prices change by season, and ship schedules change weekly; check the issuer’s page before you travel. No provider paid for placement here, and none can pay to appear. Where a booking link earns Lot and Gate a commission it is marked as sponsored and flagged in this line, and as of September 2026 no affiliate link is live anywhere on this site.

What drivers ask before leaving a car at MIA for a cruise

The answers below use the September 2026 readings above, including the ceilings on the airport parking page, the abandoned vehicle wording in its FAQ, and the metered fare built from Miami-Dade County Resolution No. R-700-22.

How long can you leave a car at Miami airport?

MIA publishes 45 days for the Dolphin, Flamingo and Ibis garages and 20 days for valet parking at the Dolphin and Flamingo. No page on miami-airport.com states a maximum for the Economy Park and Ride at 1350 NW 45 Ave, the cheapest product the airport sells.

What happens if you leave a car at MIA longer than 45 days?

Miami International Airport states that vehicles will be towed at owner’s expense after 45 days, and its FAQ adds that a vehicle parked over 45 days will be considered abandoned. The airport hyperlinks the words maximum stay of 45 days to Florida Statute 705.184.

Is it cheaper to park at Miami airport or at PortMiami for a cruise?

Only from the cheapest lot. Seven nights in the Economy Park and Ride costs $84.35 and two metered taxi legs add $58.00, for $142.35 against $200.00 at PortMiami’s $25 terminals. Seven nights in a MIA garage reaches $233.00 door to door and loses.

Does PortMiami publish a maximum parking stay?

No. PortMiami Terminal Tariff No. 010 applies the rate to the entry day and to each succeeding day the vehicle remains, and neither item 710 nor the county rate schedule names a ceiling. The airport across town tows at 45 days; the seaport sets no limit at all.

Can you reserve long-term parking at Miami airport?

The airport sells a prepaid space in the Dolphin or Flamingo garages up to a year ahead, with a reservation fee of 2.99 that is non-refundable. Its booking terms cover the garages and Valet Dolphin and Valet Flamingo, and mention neither the 45 day nor the 20 day ceiling.

Which MIA parking product suits a stay of more than three weeks?

The garages, at 45 days, or the Economy Park and Ride, which carries no published ceiling. Valet stops at 20 days, so a 21 night itinerary rules it out. Forty-five days in a garage bills $1,125.00 and twenty days of valet bills $780.00.

The county caps the stay at its airport and not at its seaport

One government owns both ends of this trip. Miami-Dade Aviation tows a car at 45 days, links that number to a state statute and repeats it as abandonment in its FAQ. The Miami-Dade County Seaport Department, whose terminals the cruise passenger actually sails from, publishes no ceiling anywhere in its rate schedule or in item 710 of its tariff.

Between them sits a lot at 1350 NW 45 Ave that Miami International Airport prices at $12.00, advertises at $8, never caps, will not let anyone reserve and leaves out of its own answer about long-term parking. It is also the only MIA product that wins this comparison.

The cheapest space at MIA is the one the airport documents worst and the one a cruise week should choose.

Related guides